Saturday, April 10, 2010

Subhumans “Same Thoughts Different Day” Dbl LP

This is the SUBHUMANS incredible first ALBUM “Incorrect Thoughts” that originally came out on Friends Records in 1980. There is one major difference, the album has been re-recorded with today’s line up. Normally this isn’t a good thing except this time around. The SUBHUMANS have bolstered their current line up with Jon Card who was the incredible drummer for SNFU and PERSONALITY CRISIS. This release proves that the current line up can pound out their classic punk songs just as well as the original line up could. I would hope so given that three of the four original members are in the band. Well there has been almost thirty years since these songs were written so the rockin' ability may be called into question. I am here to report that the current line up can play the "Big Picture" just as good as the day it was written. And “Slave to my Dick” sounds even heavier than the original. So why re-record this classic? Was it just to take a second stab at these songs in the studio. If that was the case it was worth it. But sadly it was more because a label known as CD Presents put out the album too and is making it legally impossible for the band to re-release. This is the label responsible for the “Rat Music for Rat People” comps and I guess the dicks running the label resemble the rodentia they pay tribute to. The label didn’t have permission to release the record, to re-mix it or to change the cover artwork. So instead of making some lawyers rich the band went into the studio and re-recorded the album. And to entice you further the band gives us a second LPs worth of stuff. Material from that era. They re-recorded two songs that appeared on the little known “Vancouver Independence” comp and four additional songs that were written back in the day, but have never before been recorded. An added bonus if you buy the vinyl you get a card for a digital download. My brother owns a copy of the original and I haven’t heard it since he moved away. But this re-recording makes it worth missing out on all those years. “Firing Squad” sounds as great as the day it was first pressed back in 1980. “Death to the Sickoids”, “Big Picture”, “Let’s go Down to Hollywood” they are all here. The songs are in a different order, but I am betting you won't notice. The same message laden, hard rock infused punk that we love the band for fills out these groves. This record is released by Alternative Tentacles – P.O. Box 419092 / San Francisco, CA / 94141-9092 / USA and the songs on here are:

1. Big Picture
2. Dead At Birth
3. Firing Squad
4. We’re Alive
5. Urban Guerrillas
6. The Scheme
7. War In the Head
8. Model of Stupidity
9. Death to the Sickoids
10. New Order
11. Slave to My Dick
12. Refugee
13. Greaser Boy
14. Let’s Go Down to Hollywood and Shoot Some People
15. I Gotta Move
16. Out of Place
17. Escalator to Hell
18. Out of Line
19. Behind the Smile
20. Twenty-First Century

No comments:

Post a Comment