Saturday, November 21, 1998

As One "No Less an Authority" CD

As One was a four piece from the west end of downtown Toronto. The band featured Jesse Parker on vocals, his younger brother Robert who played bass, and James Morten who played drums. The band was originally called BSE. BSE were originally a pop punk type of band. Jonah joined after they played a set at their high school which consisted of punk covers. They started listening to bands like Warzone, Strife, and Hatebreed and changed their name to As One.

The band started in late 1998 and the CD came out around then. The CD was titled “No Less an Authority” and the songs on the CD were:

1. Tolerance not indulgence
2. It’s Time
3. Caught in the crosshairs
4. United worldwide (Warzone)

As One were 3/4s straight edge but they didn’t promote that.

As One recorded a second time in the Winter of 1999 which initially was put out as a demo titled “So What if I’m a Fucking demo”. This demo was put out as the Scare Tactic 7” that came out on Solomon Method Records. So the band changed their name once again.

Thursday, November 12, 1998

MRR Interview - Marilyn's Vitamins

This interview is with Marilyn's Vitamins conducted by Damian Abraham who worked on Mods & Rockers at CIUT. Damian is the singer for Fucked Up these days. This appeared in the November 1998 issue of MRR (#186). This issue is still available as a back issue at

Monday, November 9, 1998

The Diodes "Tired of Waking Up Tired: The Best of the Diodes" CD

1998 marked the 20th Anniversary of "Tired Of Waking Up Tired", the quintessential new wave pop classic. And what better way to celebrate than to make available for the first time on CD, the complete Columbia/Epic recordings by The Diodes, one of the great original punk pop bands, and a part of the Sony Music Canadian rock legacy. The collection contains the first two LPs with a number of out-takes and a couple of previously unreleased songs. Here is the track listing:

1. Noise (previously unreleased out-take from the first LP)
2. Red Rubber Ball (the single)
3. Child Star (B-side to Tired of Waking Up Tired)
4. Tennis (Again)
5. Blonde Fever
6. Plastic Girls
7. Death in the Suburbs
8. Behind Those Eyes
9. Midnight Movie Star
10. We're Ripped (B-Side to Red rubber Ball)
11. China Doll
12. Shapes of Things to Come
13. Time Damage
14. Headache
15. Burn Down Your Dady's House (Out-Take from the second album "Survivors")
16. Teenage Nation (B-Side from the re-release of Tired of Waking Up Tired)
17. Photographs from Mars
18. Madhouse
19. Mercenary Flight
20. Tired of Waking Up Tired
21. Jenny's in a Sleep World
22. Weekend
23. No Eight to Make Me Bleed
24. Terminal Rock (previously unreleased)
25. Dead on Arrival (previously unreleased)

Saturday, November 7, 1998

Knucklehead "Little Boots" CD

Knucklehead are from Calgary. This is the band's first release which came out on their own label Whiskey Voice Records. Longshot would later re-release it. the band was a three piece at the time with Kyle on drums and vocals, Clay on guitar and vocals, and Matt on Bass and vocals. The songs on here are:

1. Little Boots
2. The Kids Are Alright
3. Wise Up Jackie
4. B-Anthem
5. Pseudopunk
6. Press Gangs
7. Bad reputation
8. Johnny's Dirge
9. House of Campbell
10. integrity
11. Shotdown (1989)
12. Early Grave
13. Four Years Down and Life to Go