Thursday, October 31, 1985

Tuesday, October 22, 1985

Sunday, October 13, 1985

Hype "Life is Hard.... Then you Die!" LP

Hype were from Oakville. Unlike most bands they had a manager who went under the name Reuben Kincade. Think Partridge family parody. This was the first record and it was self-released. Pushead reviewed the LP for MRR as "Smoking speedcore attack from Canada. Never expected this. Fast punching rhythms with metallic leads and mayhemic chord changes. Good vocals and drum smashing prove this LP to be one of the classic records that you can always pull out and play. First S.N.F.U., then DIRECT ACTION, and now HYPE--the Canadian assault is upon us!" (from Maximum Rocknroll #27, August 1985).
The song on here are:
1. It's All Hype
2. Coke Is It
3. Pseudo Punk
4. Only a Fool
5. Cigarette Head
6. I Wanna Be Neil
7. Violent Nature
8. Tradition
9. Generic Placebo
10. Time & Cash
11. Amputee Hop
12. Overreact
13. You Slay Me
14. O'Canada
15. Ode to Larry
16. Superpowers
17. Real Eyes

Tuesday, October 8, 1985

Micro Edge cassette

Micro Edge were an awesome hardcore band with their roots in the skateboard scene. Reid English played guitar in this band and he became the guitarist in Sudden Impact. The songs on here are:

1. D.P. was Right
2. Attitudes, Feelings, and Ideas
3. Second Last
4. Take a Look Around
5. Money
6. Energy Through Noise
7. Asshole
8. Something to Say
9. Attention Getter
10. Mask
11. Untitled
12. School
13. United We Skate
14. Out of Touch
15. Hardcore
16. Motormouth
17. Carpet
18. Livin' After Midnight
19. Louie Louie

Monday, October 7, 1985

Sudden Impact "No Rest from the Wicked" LP

Sudden Impact were considered a crossover band. The guys in the band were from the Newmarket area, but they were totally apart of the Toronto hardcore scene. I used to go see them all the time. The band had an earlier recording that was self-released as the "Freaked Out" demo which is some of my favourite stuff, but "No Rest From the Wicked" was my favourite album of theirs that was a vinyl release. This album came out on Diabolic Force in 1985. My understanding of the label was that Diabolic Force was a label that focused on crossover bands and was basically just Fringe Product or the Record Peddler. This record was recorded in December 1985 at Future Sound by Ted Kent. The folks that made up the band at the time of the recording were Mitch Garvin on vocals, Reid English on guitar, Michael Brunt on guitar, Steve Milo on bass, and Scott Fraser on drums. The songs on this album are:

1. Keep on Truckin'

2. Just Yourself
3. No Rest From the Wicked
4. To Our Glorious Dead
5. First Time There
6. Bent

7. Terrorist Attack

8. Continuing Saga
9. Caught Up
10. Why Hide
11. Sudden Impact
12. I Got a Right

Recently this material along with the "Freaked Out" demo and some songs recording with the songs from the "It Came From the Pit" comp were colelcted and released as a discography on Marquee Records out of Brazil. Their website is

Direct Action "Trapped in a World" LP

Direct Action were Toronto's version of a peace punk band. They were along the lines of Discharge except with more of a foot in hardcore sound. Direct Action were a four piece made up of Tim on vocals, Dave Cornelius on bass, Buzz on guitar, and Mike on drums. Some if not all of these guys were originally from St. Catherines and played in a band called the Unknowns. A song of the Unknowns called "Teenage Terrorist" appears on the "Only in Canada, eh? (1977-1981), Volume 1" and according to the folks at Punk History Canada tehre is more of that recording that remains unreleased. Anyway, they moved to Toronto and started up Direct Action who were a hardcore band through and through and this was the band's only official full length release. "Trapped in a World" was recorded at Comfort Sound in 1985 and was released on Irate faction Records, which was a label done by Geoff Tomlinson. Geoff used to be involved in Radio York and later would go to sing in a band called Brontocrushrock with at least one of the members of Direct Action. This record contains the songs:

1. H-Bomb
2. Tomorrows too Late
3. Living Dead
4. International Blacklist
5. Repression
6. Eat the Rich
7. U.X.B.
8. Fire in the Sky
9. Animal Reflex

10. P.C.P.
11. Angels of Death
12. Hate Generation
13. Spirit of Youth
14. Direct Action
15. Trapped in a World
16. One Tin Soldier

Saturday, October 5, 1985

Wednesday, October 2, 1985

Tuesday, October 1, 1985

MRR Review - Slow Death cassette

Tim Yohannon wrote this review for MRR of the Slow Death cassette. This appeared in issue #29, which came out in October 1985. Click on image to enlarge it to a readable size.

MRR Review - Living Proof "This Trip is Real" LP

Tim Yohannon wrote this review for MRR of the Living Proof LP. This appeared in issue #29, which came out in October 1985. Click on image to enlarge it to a readable size.

MRR Review - Immoral Minority "Retaliation" cassette

Tim Yohannon wrote this review for MRR of the Immoral Minority cassette. This appeared in issue #29, which came out in October 1985. Click on image to enlarge it to a readable size.

MRR Review - A.K.O.B. "Another Kind of Blues" ep

Steve Spinalli wrote this review for MRR of the Direct Action LP. This appeared in issue #29, which came out in October 1985. Click on image to enlarge it to a readable size.

MRR - Toronto scene report

Vic Notorious gives us another great scene report with updates on Direct Action, BFG and the DMZ, Negative Gain, Sudden Impact, Raving Mojos, the Forgotten Rebels, the Questionable comp, and a comprehensive lists of bands, zines, and clubs along with photos. This is a great snapshot of the time back in October 1985. Click on the images to enlarge to a readable size.