Saturday, October 31, 1987

Flyer - Saturday October 31, 1987

This was the second show I ever put on. It was an afternoon matinee show with some bands from Ohio. I had some punk friends who put me in touch with Hyper as Hell who were from Kent and False Hope and Confront who were from Cleveland. The show was a matinee because we could do it as an all ages show.

But more importantly, my brother's friend was moving out of his house and they house was to be levelled so we had a house wrecking party that night at which these bands were supposed to play. Things went horribly wrong at the night show and the bands didn't even get to take their equipment out of the vans. The night ended with thousand of high school kids being dispersed by cops and Sons of Ishmael would go on to write a song called "The Hallowe'en Party" which would get released on the "Sons of Ishmael sing Generic Crap" ep. Above is the flyer we handed out at the matinee. It was like a bonus show.

Thursday, October 29, 1987

Tuesday, October 27, 1987

Flyer - Tuesday October 27, 1987

The bass player, Alisdiar Jones, made this flyer. Other flyers can be viewed at

Sunday, October 25, 1987

Wednesday, October 14, 1987

Missing Link "Metalibut Torque Bastard" ep

Missing Link were from Pickering and they were friends with a scene out there which included Malhavoc, Al Nolan who would sing in Deep End, Dave Petretic of Intense fanzine, and MSI. The band had already released a cassette called "Murder Music" and this ep was self released. Missing Link recorded the m aterial at Reaction Studios in July 1987 and the session was engineered by Darrell Gasparini. The songs on here are:
1. Whirling Dervishes
2. The Cutting Edge
3. Never Good Enough
4. Looking Ahead

Tuesday, October 13, 1987

Release - Hype "Burned" LP

This album almost didn't happen. The band had a house in Oakville and it caught fire and burned down, hence the name of the LP. The tapes of the original recording for this LP were inside and didn't survive, so the band had to re-record. This version of the band captured the Barbasin Brothers. The liner notes has a neat shot from a Hype show at Ildiko's of the scene gathering together trying to get into the shot. It is as close as you get to a class photo. Songs on here are:

1. Life is Hard ... Then You Die
2. Free Trade
3. Ditch Pig
4. Sick Side Show
5. Chants
6. Asshole at Large
7. Wipeout
8. Scumtongue
9. Intermission
10. Have You Seen Nicole?
11. Burned
12. Insecurity
13. Our Glass
14. Need a Handgun
15. White Disease
16. The Fix
17. They Do as They Please

For more information check the Down Underground blog on this and the first LP. 

Saturday, October 10, 1987

Nunfuckers "Dead and on the Floor" ep

The NUNFUCKERS formed in July of 1985 in Waterloo, Ontario. The first practice was in Bob’s garage - Bob on drums, Dave on guitar, Ian on vocals and Todd on guitar. Practice went for a couple of hours. When Todd got bored and left, Ian, Bob and Dave wrote and recorded the “Today is a Good Day” demo (on a tape recorder). At least one song on the demo had lyrics about actually fucking nuns. Ian’s dad was transferred to Calgary the following month and Ian left the band. Derek joined as bassist in the fall of 1985, followed by Rob on vocals. The NUNFUCKERS played house parties around Waterloo before playing their first show at Chuggy’s in Hamilton (now Hogtown) opening for the RESISTANCE from Vancouver. A few months later, the NUNFUCKERS recorded the “Into the Pit” demo at CKMS in Waterloo. Copies of the demo were made on low-end blank tapes stolen from CKMS while recording. One copy was given to members of BUNCHOFFUCKINGGOOFS while at the White House (punk home/hangout in Waterloo). Shortly after that, BFG invited the NUNFUCKERS to open for them at Lee’s Palace in Toronto. The place was packed and both bands were well received.The NUNFUCKERS played a lot after that, in and out of Waterloo, with bands like DOG, MSI, SONS OF ISHMAEL, NO MIND and the DOUGHBOYS (including a show with NO MIND in a Chinese restaurant in Kitchener). In 1987, the band returned to CKMS to record the “Dead and on the Floor” EP - 11 songs recorded live-to-stereo in 2 hours for $30. The songs on this ep are:

1. Decimation
2. Movin' On
3. Snap
4. My Shit
5. Up Your Ass with All Your Gossip
6. Social Butterfly
7. Blood Bath

8. Burning Chemicals
9. My Mom and Dad
10. Cheap Friends
11. Spoiled Brats

Wednesday, October 7, 1987

Tuesday, October 6, 1987

Sons of Ishmael "Parasites", on October 6, 1987

Sons of Ishmael play "Parasites" live in Christie Pit's at a Food Not Bombs benefit on October 6, 1987.

Sons of Ishmael, October 6, 1987

The songs "Break Free / Democracy" by Sons of Ishmael performed at the Food Not Bombs benefit at Christie Pits, Toronto on October 6, 1987.

Sons of Ishmael - Christie Pits

Sons of Ishmael played a benefit outdoors at Christie Pits. the set didn't last very long even though they played a full set. That was a regular Sons of Ishmael show. We caught the last two songs.