Wednesday, June 16, 1999

Zine -Full Contact 07

Issue 7 featured pieces on Dropkick Murphys, Stampin' ground, All Out War, Bad Luck 13, DS-13, Out to Win, Cold as Life, Power House, Tony Hawk and a profile on Straight Up Records.

Saturday, June 12, 1999

“Toronto’s Burning” Demo

RIOT 99 were an oi inspired punk band from Toronto made up of Drew on vocals, Howard on guitar and his sister Nathalie on bass, and Taras on drums. Taras had moved to the city from Edmonton where he played in a street punk inspired band called the Glory Stompers. Drew moved here from Australia and played in a couple of bands from the land down under. This was their first demo and it featured the following songs:

1. Fuck America
2. Decade on the Dole
3. Guttersnipe,
4. Nunfucker
5. Self-Destruct
6. Rats
7. Streetpunk,
8. Ave a Go
9. They Want to Control you
10. Start a Riot
11. Thieves in the Night
12. Kill Raver Scum

Friday, June 11, 1999

Bureaucrats LP

I know the cover kind of looks like Nazareth's "Razamanaz", but they were an awesome punk band from Ottawa that started up in 1978. They had at least one ep out. This LP was released posthumously and collected studio recordings with 3 live tracks. The band featured the Sidwell brothers who were from Scotland so the British accent is not a fake. The band broke up in 1981 but did a reunion show in 2001. The release doesn't seem to have a label behind it, so this could have been self-released. Below are the liner notes.

The songs on here are:
1. Grown Up Age
2. The Game
3. Bureaucracy
4. Today & Everyday
5. Frustration
6. Girl of your Dreams
7. Now and Then
8. Feel the Pain
9. She's an American
10. A Question of Sport
11. Passion Bastards
12. You Never Wanted Me
13. as If We Didn't Know
14. Vaccination
15. Killing Ground

Thursday, June 3, 1999

Marilyn's Vitamins "Meanwhile During the Class war" ep

Marilyn's Vitamins mostly released material on Raw Energy. Their last ep was on Ugly Pop Records. This was originally to be part of a Toronto hardcore series of 7" releases. Like those records they had a limited Drew Barrymore cover for each of the releases. The songs on this ep were:
1. The Executions of May 16th
2. It's good to be Here
3. Zundel, Voltaire and Me
4. I Consume, Therefore I Am