Saturday, May 22, 2010

Unruled "Butchers of Warfare" LP

I didn’t know much about UNRULED other than they were from Montreal. They started up back in 1982 in the glory days of Montreal hardcore along with bands like GENETIC CONTROL and NO POLICY. The band was formed by an original member of S.C.U.M., but UNRULED had more of a DISCHARGE influence to them. They got to play with DISCHARGE. In fact they got to headline for DISCHARGE, but that is a story you will get to read about in the liner notes. The band’s first ever show was opening for the DEAD KENNEDYS. The band only released a 7” called “Time is Running Out”. That ep had this amazing song on it called “Lost Cause’ that has a noticeable resemblance to BAD BRAINS “Banned in DC”. Back in 2008, Chany and Sam from INEPSY teamed up with the original guitarist and bassist to do a show and they have kept at it. They have re-recorded all the songs from the ep and written a handful of others that are pretty awesome. “Lost Cause” sounds as awesome as it did 25 years ago. And the new recording also has a load of great new songs like “Iraq Attack” “Clear the Pigs Out”, “For Our Rights”, “Riot Squad”. It is a real return to form for UNRULED. (Schizophrenic Records17 West 4th Street / Hamilton, ON / L9C 3M2 / Canada / The songs on the LP are:
1. Butchers of Warfare
2. Clear the Pigs Out
3. Forced Mistake (2009)
4. Government Games
5. Heroin
6. Hypocriticals
7. Iraq Attack
8. Lost Cause (2009)
9. For Our Rights
10. Riot Squad
11. Screams of Fear
12. Time is Running Out (2009)
13. Unruled

No comments:

Post a Comment