Friday, March 23, 2001

Victorian Pork CD

VICTORIAN PORK were originally a fuck band from Vancouver. Fuck bands were impromptu bands put together by folks in the Vancouver scene so that they would have bands to fill out the bill. They weren’t meant to be taken seriously and they weren’t supposed to have much of a life outside of one or two gigs. This particular fuck band bucked the trend. Started in 1977 they had Joey Shithead playing drums, Dimwit playing bass, Brad Kent who played in the SKULLS and a host of others. Like every good fuck band the line up evolved with Tony Bardach taking over bass duties. who would go on to play in the POINTED STICKS. There are some great photos of the original VICTORIAN PORK on Scott Beadle’s myspace site at There was a song that got released on a bootleg of the original band. The band had a life span of about four months by the band’s own admission. In 1999, Tony’s daughter Alexa was on Nardwuar’s radio show playing stuff from Tony’s collection and Brad Kent heard the program. Brad contacted Tony and they got Alexa to sing and voila VICTORIAN PORK have reformed. This is a full length of material which really sounds like DOA / SUBHUMANS material with Penelope Houston of the AVENGERS fronting them. The song “Bad” sounds remarkably like DOA’s RCMP. I guess it makes sense given the band’s origins. Good luck tracking this down because it is a DIY release and I don’t think they are playing out any more. But I did find this website on them at with a rolling script for the band history a la Star Wars. The songs on here are:

1. Do What I Feel
2. Miller Time
3. Bad
4. I just wanna Beer
5. Pretty Girls
6. Buzzcocks
7. Wanna Do
8. Hey Hey
9. Don't Want
10. You Know
11. Nike Stole my Smoke
12. Nite cafe
13. Silence

No comments:

Post a Comment