Sunday, January 21, 2001

Ruination "Year One" CD

This is a discography CD that collects Ruination's recordings from their first year of existence on one CD. The first eight songs are from an ep that was originally self-released and later pressed by Youth Attack. The next three songs are from a compuilation titled "Seven Deadly Sins". Track 12 is from a "Short, Fast, + Loud" comp. Track 13 was intended for a comp for Inside Front #3 but never came out. Tracks 14 - 17 were for the split with They Live. Tracks 18 - 21 were released as an titled "Dead Horse" released by No Idea. The remainder of the CD is a live show in Philadelphia from January 3, 2001 by Jon Hiltz, the former drummer from Rorschach. Here is a review I wrote of the release:
A collection of a number of hard-to-flnd releases by this ex-member band. I have to say that it is awesome to fill some of the gaps in trying to collect this group's material. I also have to say that the equalization of the sound also helps bring cohesion to this otherwise scattered project, Chris, from the SWARM, has very distinctive vocals and Ebro's CHARLES BRONSON style drumming is unmistakable. Andy, from BLOODPACT, plays guitar and draws infleunces as wide as MANLIFTINGBANNER and MOTORHEAD. The thick rolling basslines are shared by Mike Haliechuk - a local DIY promoter with a heart of gold - and Jaime Towns - who played for ANTI-FLAG and TEEN CRUD COMBO, I strongly urge you to pick this up as much for the originals like "No One Can Save You", as for the covers of the FREEZE's "Sacrifice Not Suicide". I'm not sure why the live set is on here. But this collection of the band's first year of output will save you a lot of headaches in tracking down their originals. The "Inside Front" song is unreleased as far as I know. And the equalized sound makes a difference on their earlier material. Highly recommended, (Plus/Minus / P.O. Box 7096 / Ann Arbor, Ml / 48107 / USA)
The song listing is:
1. Intro / Burnout
2. Hero/Suspect
3. The One that Got Away
4. No One Home
5. Escape / Control
6. From Bad to Worse
7. No One to Save You
8. Roll Over and Die
9. Theme for a Crucifiction
10. Mission from God
11. Sacrifice Not Suicide
12. Who's in Season
13. Convictions
14. Got Myself a System
15. Note to Self
16. Do I Know?
17. Yours to Kill
18. Holy Terror
19. Home Sweet Home
20. Giblets
21. Alone in a Room
22. Intro
23. Hero/Suspect
24. No One Home
25. Burnout
26. Got Myself a System
27. Note to Self
28. Mission from God
29. Do I Know?
30. Chris Testifies
31. Yours to Kill
32. Giblets
33. All Y'all ....
34. Home Sweet Home
35. Bad to Worse
36. Convictions
37. Gene
38. The One that Got Away
39. Roll Over and Die

No comments:

Post a Comment