Thursday, October 6, 1983

Youth Youth Youth "Sin" 12"

This is my favourite Toronto hardcore record of all time if not my favourite hardcore record of all time. The music is amazing. The lyrics are amazing. It was released in 1983 by Fringe Product, which was a label that the Record Peddler did to put out local stuff and license imports domestically. The record was reviewed by Jeff Bale of MRR as "Canada's Y.Y.Y. play real fast punk rather than thrash. The tempos are driving, the guitars are plenty loud, the singing exhibits a lot of emotion, and the lyrics are very thoughtful. I like every song individually, but then played back-to-back, they tend to run together a bit due to the unusually consistent tempos and vocal inflections. It's a high-powered debut, though." Tracks found on "Sin" are:

1. Greed
2. Philosphy
3. Wanderlust
4. Headline Hunters
5. Fire in the Rain
6. White Reggae
7. Sinistre

No comments:

Post a Comment