Tuesday, December 31, 1996

Monday, December 30, 1996

Saturday, December 28, 1996

Monday, December 16, 1996

Thursday, December 12, 1996

Screamin' Sam's rock, art collide

Tuesday, December 10, 1996

Left for Dead / Ochre split ep

Left for Dead were from Hamilton. The band featured Chris Colohon on vocals and Jeff Backman of Chokehold on guitar. This was recorded at Blue Tilt in Hamilton by Dan. The ep was released on Phyte Records and the Left for Dead songs on here were:

1. Eight Floors Above
2. Pulling Teeth
3. Six O' Clock
4. Plant the Seed
5. Ripped Up

Tuesday, December 3, 1996

Zine - Full Contact 02

Click for download
This issue features interviews with Agnostic Front, Buried Alive, All Out War, and Stigmata.

Flyer - Tuesday December 3, 1996

Wednesday, November 27, 1996

Submission Hold "Garlic for Victory" ep

Hopscoth Records from California released this ep. The songs on here are:
1. 1 in a 1000
2. Author Unknown
3. Garlic for Victory
4. Salt

Friday, November 22, 1996

Saturday, November 9, 1996

Acrid demo

Spazmz ep

This was recorded at Signal to Noise in 1996. The band featured Roddy who now plays in the Terminals, Dana who now plays in the Diabollocks, and Preston who plays in Murdersquad T.O. the band does a Dishrags cover. The songs on here are:
1. Spazmz
2. I Don't Luv You
3. Not All There
4. Bernice
5. Harriss-y

Monday, October 21, 1996

Hoodrat ep

Hoodrat were a three piece from Oakville. This ep was self-released and had a Subhumans cover on it. The songs on here are:
1. Jeff the Mite
2. 'Til the Pigs Come Round
3. Hate Edge
4. Bad Drunk
5. Victim

Wednesday, October 16, 1996

Teenage Head "Head Disorder" CD

This was released in 1996 by Panache Music. Nick was no longer drumming with the band and Mark Lockerbie was filling this role. The songs on here are:
1. Head Disorder
2. Down to the Underground
3. Walkin' Alone
4. So Long, Goodbye
5. She's My Girl
6. Seen It and Done It
7. Gene and Eddie
8. Send a letter
9. Glasgow's Cryin'
10. My Mommies Pot
11. First Time
12. Rock with Rock

The Ugly "Disorder" CD

The most notorious of the early Toronto punk bands. People used to describe them as hoodlum rock. Guitarist Raymi accidentally stumbles across the reels for this 1977 recording and Chris Spedding re-mixes them in the late 90's. Other Peoples Music releases a series of the first wave Toronto punk band recordings, most of which was unreleased. The songs they were able to unearth are:

1. Just One Foot in the Gutter
2. Disorder
3. Do You Wanna See Me
4. To Have Some Fun
5. Alley Cat
6. No Place To Go
7. You Gotta Be Mean
8. Revenge
9. Cruel Ones
10. Murderous Adventure
11. Baby You Bug Me
12. So in Love with you
13. Hell Time
14. K-4
15. Black Days
16. Hey Little Girl
17. Lust for Life

Tuesday, October 15, 1996

Zine - Rivet #11

Issue 11 of Rivet focues on party stories. Click on the image to download a copy of the zine.

Tuesday, September 17, 1996

Beyond Possession "Reposessed 1985-1989" CD

This was a discography CD released by Melodiya, which might be the band. The songs on are taken from the ep and the LP and are:

1. Never Nothing New
2. Life Force
3. Dying Fast
4. Living to Tell You About It
5. Last Will and Testament
6. You're so Important
7. Final Daze
8. Why ? It's Youth
9. Beyond Possession
10. Creeping Eruption
11. Hard Times
12. Attitude Problem
13. Depression
14. Cinderella Syndrome
15. I'll Never Rest in Peace
16. Tell Tale Heart
17. What's the Matter
18. Skater's Life
19. No Religion
20. Vengeance
21. Freedom Dreamer
22. Why Can't You See
23. Reappearing Images
24. Of Sands and Sails

Sunday, September 15, 1996

Mexican Power Authority "Mikro Vivace" ep

This was a split release between Break Even Records and Malarie Records (out of Poland). Break Even was a tape and record label done by Jason Flower the singer of MPA. This was his 46th release. The songs on here are:

1. ha'kove kri'ze bohaty'eh a slavny'eh (0:20)
2. kaktusony' klub - improvizace (1:00)
3. mikrovivace (0:25)
4. nikdo nema' ra'd bedna're (0:43)
5. kureei' syfilis (0:31)
6. orthogonalizational invigilator (1:09)
7. unaven kurdt (0:04)
8. nekoneena tamboura (0:51)

Saturday, September 7, 1996

Friday, August 30, 1996

Speedy Huffler King "He Doesn't Have a Nose...." ep

Speedy Huffler King were from Ottawa. Katie Whitaker released this on her own label Hardcore Noisies. This was the one and only release she would do. The songs on here are:
1. Roaches in the Ubermensch
2. Anarchy in Mom's Car
3. Didit (Injury)
4. Puppyfucker

Flyer - Friday August 30, 1996

Flyer - Friday August 30, 1996

Saturday, August 10, 1996

Thursday, August 8, 1996

Friday, August 2, 1996

Saturday, July 27, 1996

Thursday, July 18, 1996

Tuesday, July 2, 1996

Monday, July 1, 1996

Monday, June 24, 1996

Strain "These Years" ep

This was Strain's third ep. The singer, Eric, also hosted a local radio show called Flex Your Head. I think Strain were touring Europe around this time. The songs on here are:
1. These Years
2. Regret

Thursday, June 20, 1996

Zine - Full Contact 01

This was a glossy zine put out by a long time friend of mine Rod Orchard. I knew Rod from the hardcore scene back in the day and we re-connected at Lee's Palace. I worked as a bar back and Rod was doing security. Rod was also taking all kinds of awesome photos of the hardcore scene. He was mostly into the tough guy sound. Issue 1 features interviews with 25 Ta Life, Earth Crisis, and Disciple. Rod liked to stir the pot so there is all kinds of controversial issues throughout. Click the above image to get a PDF of the issue.

Wednesday, June 19, 1996

Holocron "Celestial Sphere" ep

Holocron were a band that initially had a Star Wars gimmick. Their first demo was all about Star Wars. This ep was recorded at Signal to Noise Rob Sanzo and James Cavalluzzo of Malhavoc. Winter Records, which was a label in London run by a guy from Shoulder, put this out. The cover had a fancy fold over and the songs on here are:
1. 7 Times
2. Cop Comes Knockin'
3. e-fix
4. Dear